Volume 8/Issue 4

  • Five Fox Scholars Named

Five Fox Scholars Named

Pictured (l to r) are Fox Scholars with mentors: Doug Hritz (mentor), Dillon McNamara, Corinne Winters, Heather Atamian, Danielle Alpert (mentor), Kay Elizabeth Li Causi (mentor), Nancy Rae Pietrobon, Daniel Nason, Diane Scaccetti (mentor), and Kevin Hagan (mentor)

On May 2, 2018, the James P. Fox Memorial Fund marked its first milestone in continuing the legacy of its namesake, our friend Jamie Fox, with the induction of the first Fox Scholars of the Jamie Fox Scholars Program at The College of New Jersey (TCNJ).

Five Fox Scholars were named following their completion of the Fox Scholars Program. The program matched each student with a seasoned public affairs mentor, who provided them with a behind-the-scene look at the inner workings of politics and policy making, introductions to and shadowing with elected and government officials, and advice on a path forward into a career in the public sector.

“Our goal was to give college students, especially those without a network of public service contacts, a track into public service,” says Eric Shuffler, of River Crossing Strategy Group and Fox Memorial Fund trustee. “It was humbling to see how the students captured the nuances about how to establish relationships and navigate policy and politics that Jamie did so well and helped make him so successful.”

At the event, the Fox Scholars shared their experiences during a panel discussion, led by TCNJ Political Science Professor Daniel Bowen.

Nancy Rae Pietrobon, a sociology major who was mentored by Diane Scaccetti, Commissioner, New Jersey Department of Transportation, says that “after this experience I realized I could work in government and be a voice for people with disabilities and women.” Corinne Winters, an international studies major was mentored by Danielle Alpert, of River Crossing Strategy Group. She says her experience “opened my eyes to opportunities at the local and state level that I never thought of as an international studies major.”

Heather Atamian, a criminology major, whose mentor was Kay Elizabeth Li Causi, President & CEO, Hoboken Strategy Group, Inc., says she received invaluable advice and feedback from a range of professionals. While another Fox Scholar, Dillon McNamara, a Political Science Major/Public Policy Analysis and Management Minor, who was mentored by Doug Hritz, River Crossing Strategy Group, says he learned about how the power of connections and networking to get things done. Daniel Nason, Economics Major, was mentored by Kevin Hagan, Princeton Public Affairs Group. He says he “learned that policy has to do with passionate people working diligently and tirelessly for causes they believe in.”

The Jamie Fox Scholars Program at TCNJ is funded by the Fox Memorial Fund. Donations to The James P. Fox Memorial Fund, Inc., can be sent to River Crossing Strategy Group, 128 West State Street, Trenton, NJ 08608. The fund is a 501C3 nonprofit and donations are deductible to the extent permitted by law. Learn more at www.jamiefoxfund.org