Volume 10/Issue 3

  • Assembly Leaders Announce New Leadership Team for 2020-20 Session
  • Senate President Sweeney Outlines Legislative Priorities for New Session
  • Governor Murphy Nominates New State Comptroller¬†
  • New Legislator Profile: Assemblyman Bill Moen

Assembly Leaders Announce New Leadership Team for 2020-21 Session

Assembly Speaker Craig Coughlin and Assembly Majority Leader Lou Greenwald announced the members of their leadership team for the 2020-21 legislative session.

Assemblywoman Annette Quijano has been named as Conference Leader, replacing Assemblywoman Shavonda Sumter. Assemblyman Gordon Johnson has been appointed to his second term as Speaker Pro Tempore. The Assembly Budget Committee and the Assembly Appropriations Committee will continue to be chaired by Assemblywoman Eliana Pintor Marin and Assemblyman John Burzichelli.

Speaker Coughlin also announced two new leadership positions. Assemblyman Nicholas Chiaravalloti will serve as Majority Whip and Assemblyman Gary Schaer has been tapped as Policy Chair. In this new position, Schaer will be tasked with working with fellow Caucus members on the most complex issues to ensure a consistent agenda.

Senate President Sweeney Outlines Legislative Priorities for New Session

After beginning a record sixth term in leading his house, Senate President Steve Sweeney recently announced his legislative priorities for 2020-21 session. The Senate President has called for a major focus on clean water, education and New Jersey Transit.

Senator Sweeney noted that his education priorities included funding for better schools, school equipment, school buildings and greater investment in higher education. He pledged to pursue a multi-faceted clean water plan, which would include safe drinking water and protections for lakes, streams and aquifers. The Senate President also said long-needed reforms for NJ Transit would be a top priority, including dedicated additional funding.

Governor Murphy Nominates New State Comptroller

Governor Phil Murphy recently announced the nomination of Kevin D. Walsh, Esq. to serve as the fourth New Jersey State Comptroller. The Comptroller is an independent State agency that audits government finances, examines the efficiency of government programs, scrutinizes government contracts and investigates or uncovers waste, fraud and abuse.

Mr. Walsh has spent the past two decades as a civil rights attorney and as the Executive Director of the Fair Share Housing Center, where he has led the enforcement of the Mount Laurel decision to promote racial and economic integration in New Jersey through the expansion of affordable housing. He previously served as Counsel to New Jerseyans for Alternatives to the Death Penalty, where he was a key member of the team that led the grassroots effort to abolish the death penalty in the state.

Mr. Walsh began serving as Acting Comptroller on Monday, January 27. His nomination is subject to advice and consent by the Senate and is for a six-year term.

New Legislator Profile: Assemblyman Bill Moen

Assemblyman Bill Moen represents the Fifth Legislative District, which is comprised of municipalities from Camden and Gloucester Counties. Assemblyman Moen won election to the seat of former Assemblywoman Pat Egan Jones, who opted not to run for re-election.

The new Assemblyman is a former Camden County Freeholder and he previously worked as the Director of the Southern New Jersey Office of U.S. Senator Cory Booker. At age 32, Assemblyman Moen is the youngest member of the General Assembly.

The Assemblyman will serve on three committees: Commerce and Economic Development, State and Local Government and the Transportation and Independent Authorities Committee.